Kathryn M. Sibley, PhD

Canada Research Chair in Integrated Knowledge Translation in Rehabilitation Sciences


Research Team

Principal Investigator: Dr. Kathryn M. Sibley, PhD

Kate is the Canada Research Chair in Integrated Knowledge Translation in Rehabilitation Sciences, Assistant Professor in the Department of Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba, and Associate Director of the Knowledge Translation platform at the George & Fay Yee Centre for Healthcare Innovation.


BSc Student: Saima Hossain

Saima_Hossain_selfie EditedSaima has been working with Drs. Sibley and Jaglal on the REACT Study since 2014, via the Honours Co-Operative Biology program at the University of Waterloo. Her interests include the quality of care, availability of services, and implementation and evaluation of new practices in the field of rehabilitation sciences.


Research Coordinator: Patricia Roche, MSc

TrishTrish has been working with Dr. Sibley since September 2015. She has a BSc Honours in Biochemistry from the University of Winnipeg and a MSc in Physiology from the University of Manitoba. Trish is particularly interested in the role of basic researchers in the science and practice of knowledge translation.


Collaborator: Serena Hickes, BA

serena-glacier-mspteditSerena is a co-researcher with Dr. Sibley on the Valuing All Voices project focused on improving patient engagement in Canada. Serena has a Bachelor of Arts in Social Work and Canadian Indigenous Studies. She is committed to volunteer service with organizations such as the Manitoba Inuit Association, the WRHA, and the TREKK Parent Advisory Group.

 George and Fay Yee Centre for Healthcare Innovation: Knowledge Translation Platform

CHI KT platform
L to R: Leah Crockett, Melanie Fatouros-Richardson, Patricia Roche, Patrick Faucher, Amanda Osario, Carolyn Shimmin, Kristy Wittmeier, Carly Leggett, Kathryn Sibley


Dr. Marla Beauchamp, McMaster University

Dr. Dina Brooks, University of Toronto

Dr. Paula Gardner, Brock University

Jacqueline Habing, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

Dr. Tracey Howe, Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr. Susan Jaglal, University of Toronto

Dr. Sarah Lamb, University of Warwick, University of Oxford

Dr. Linda Li, University of British Columbia

Dr. Stephen Lord,  University of New South Wales

Dr. Sara McEwen, Sunnybrook Research Institute

Mandy McGlynn, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute – University Health Network

Dr. Bill McIlroy, University of Waterloo

Rudy Niebuhr,  Health Sciences Centre Rehabilitation Hospital

Sachi O’Hoski, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute – University Health Network

Dr. Alison Oates, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Kara Patterson, University of Toronto

Dr. Debbie Rose, California State University

Dr. Nancy Salbach, University of Toronto

Dr. Richard Sawatzky, Trinity Western University

Paula Shing, Sinai Health System – Bridgepoint

Dr. Jonathan Singer, University of Manitoba

Dr. Sharon Straus, University of Toronto

Dr. Bev Temple,  University of Manitoba

Dr. Paula Williamson, University of Liverpool

Dr. Kristy Wittmeier, University of Manitoba


George and Fay Yee Centre for Healthcare Innovation

University of Manitoba

Toronto Rehabilitation Institute – University Health Network


Canada Research Chairs Program

Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Centre on Aging – University of Manitoba

University of Manitoba

Technology Evaluation in the Elderly Network Centres of Excellence

Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba

Manitoba Medical Services Foundation

Health Sciences Centre Foundation


%d bloggers like this: